Skip to content

Feeding America Study Finds 1 in 8 Americans Receive Help at Food Pantries

February 2, 2010

Feeding America, a nationwide network of food banks, released its study of domestic hunger this week.  The study, Hunger in America 2010, provides comprehensive data on their emergency food distribution network and the people they serve.  The study reported that Feeding America is feeding 37  million Americans annually, including 14 million children.  Nationwide, Feeding America’s network of food banks is feeding 1 million more Americans weekly than in 2006, when their last survey was released.

Statewide data for New York was released showing that the Feeding America emergency food system feeds around 2.2 million New Yorkers annually.  Of client households in New York, 31 percent had children under the age of 18.  Thirty-four percent of households had at least one employed adult.  The study also noted the widespread use of volunteers at feeding programs.  Of food pantries in New York 93 percent use volunteers.

More data for New York can be found here.  The entire report can be found here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jennifer gage permalink
    March 13, 2010 3:15 pm

    I live in Grand Island, NE and have filed for disability due to an abnormality
    In the pons area of my brian stem
    And I fell and snapped my quadracep
    Tendion in my leg. I have not been able to work
    Since end of november. I collapsed at home and was in hospital
    Dec 1 to 10. Then fell and hurt leg dec 30.
    I can’t get food stamps as my 18 year old son lives at home
    But he pays his own bills and groceries and is
    Saving money for college. I have 3 other children and my husband walked out on us
    2 years ago. The local food pantry said I can only come
    3 times a year so can’t get any further
    Assistance from them. I have had to have a friend move in to
    Pay the bills while I wait to hear from social security disability.
    And to help me with daily chores, cooking and transporting
    My kids and me where we need to go. What are people like myself
    Suppose to do. I’m an educated woman with a college degree but gave been
    Given a bad set of circumstances.

  2. S.Bavarsky permalink
    February 8, 2011 12:38 am

    A survey such as this should be taken annually or even twice a year if the Feeding America emergency food system is feeding around 2.2 million New Yorkers annually. While it is great to hear that 1 million people who were not getting assistance in 2006 are now getting the help that they need, for themselves and their families, something should be done to get the rest of the New Yorkers who need assistance the knowledge that a program like this is there to help them. Children are starving and adults are out of work. The economy is terrible but that does not mean that people do not deserve help, this is when we all need it most.

Leave a Reply

